Liberal Councillor Kent Johns has been elected as the new mayor of Sutherland Shire Council.

Deputy mayor is long-term councillor Kevin Shreiber. Both were elected unopposed at council meeting last night.

Cr Johns was first elected to Sutherland Shire Council in 2004. He has previously served as a Liberal deputy mayor on Sutherland Shire Council.

In 2008, as Liberal team leader he disbanded the Liberal party team so that they ran as independents until the end of the term.

At the recent election, they ran as officially endorsed Liberals securing an outright majority with nine seats on the council.

Cr Johns ran on a platform of ‘‘responsible economic management and ensuring core service delivery’’

This will be his first term as mayor of Sutherland Shire.

Source: The Leader