Shire Local News

Nine Liberal councillors in new Sutherland Shire Council

The final configuration of the new Sutherland Shire Council is nine Liberals, three ALP, two independents and one Shire Watch Independent.

In A Ward, long-serving Liberal councillor Kevin Schreiber was re-elected.

Independent Carol Provan was re-elected after the distribution of preferences. Also elected in A Ward was new Liberal councillor Scott Williams.

B Ward saw Liberal Kent Johns re-elected. His second on the ticket, Tracy Cook was elected and Labor’s Phil Blight was re-elected.

C Ward has three new councillors, Liberals Hassan Awada and Tom Croucher, and Labor’s Peter Scaysbrook.

The new line-up in D Ward is Liberal Carmelo Pesci, the ALP’s Dierdree Steinwall and independent Bruce Walton.

In E Ward, Liberal councillor Steve Simpson was re-elected, along with his second on the ticket John Riad. Shire Watch Independent councillor Peter Towell was also re-elected.


Our Sponsors

Want to get involved in community radio?

Why not volunteer your time at our upcoming events…

Join our email list to be notified of what’s coming up! We run regular BBQ’s and other community events throughout the year, and we are always looking for new volunteers to assist our regular volunteers. Why not join us for some fun and meet new people!