Shire Local News

Kent Johns elected mayor of Sutherland Shire Council

Liberal Councillor Kent Johns has been elected as the new mayor of Sutherland Shire Council.

Deputy mayor is long-term councillor Kevin Shreiber. Both were elected unopposed at council meeting last night.

Cr Johns was first elected to Sutherland Shire Council in 2004. He has previously served as a Liberal deputy mayor on Sutherland Shire Council.

In 2008, as Liberal team leader he disbanded the Liberal party team so that they ran as independents until the end of the term.

At the recent election, they ran as officially endorsed Liberals securing an outright majority with nine seats on the council.

Cr Johns ran on a platform of ‘‘responsible economic management and ensuring core service delivery’’

This will be his first term as mayor of Sutherland Shire.

Source: The Leader


Our Sponsors

Want to get involved in community radio?

Why not volunteer your time at our upcoming events…

Join our email list to be notified of what’s coming up! We run regular BBQ’s and other community events throughout the year, and we are always looking for new volunteers to assist our regular volunteers. Why not join us for some fun and meet new people!